3684 - Single_lajmi | Ministria e Puneve te Jashtme

Minister Pacolli presented the priorities of Kosovo during its presidency of the SEECP regional initiative

Prishtina, 15 July 2019 – On Monday, the First Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Kosovo, Behgjet Pacolli, while having the presence of the ambassadors of some of the member states of the South-East Europe Cooperation Process regional initiative, solemnly opened the Presidency of the Republic of Kosovo in the South-East Europe Cooperation process (SEECP).


Minister Pacolli assessed that under Kosovo's Presidency, SEECP will be further developed as an expression of the solidarity and efforts of participating states to strengthen the ties and co-operation between them and other Euro-Atlantic states and structures.


He informed the attendees that the promotion of culture and young artists, cultural heritage as well as positive developments in the energy sector in the region, will be priorities of the Republic of Kosovo.


“Kosovo aims to further contribute to an environment of peace, security, good neighbourly relations, and stability, overcoming divisions through a comprehensive and coherent approach to regional cooperation and promoting European Integration", said the Minister.


Minister Pacolli briefly spoke in front of the ambassadors about the recent events before and during the Sarajevo Summit, where Kosovo's position within the SEECP was not respected and Kosovo was not treated like all other member states.


"This could have been avoided with a good political will and coordination between states, however, Kosovo is committed to being a credible and constructive partner in the region and in full harmony with SEECP's main mission", said the Minister, while adding that EU policies on Neighbourhood and Regional Cooperation will be presented in the best possible way during Kosovo's Presidency of this important structure.


It is important to note that Kosovo’s Presidency of SEECP is happening in the same year Kosovo has taken the Presidency over the Western Balkans Fund (WBF) and the Migration, Asylum, Refugees Regional Initiative (MARRI). Kosovo, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Turkey, North Macedonia, Croatia, Montenegro, Serbia, Slovenia, Bulgaria, Greece, Moldova, and Romania are SEECP’s member states.

Foto Galeria